Horror Library—Smörgåsbord of Scary

Screen Shot 2015-08-07 at 11.29.45 PMI just came across a delicious treat for fans of horror—The Best of Horror Library Volumes 1-5. This collection covers ten years of horror short reads and includes some of the best names in the business.

The man behind the curtain is editor R.J. Cavender,  an Associate Member of the Horror Writers Association and thrice Bram Stoker Award® nominated editor of the +Horror Library+ series.

He is Editor-in-Chief at Cutting Block Books, the managing editor of horror at Dark Regions Press, an acquisitions editor at Blood Bound Books, and the pitch sessions coordinator for the World Horror Convention. He is also the founder and host of The Stanley Hotel Writer’s Retreat, which I intend to attend some day soon.

Over 150 stories have made their debut in the Horror Library series over the years. This book picks the 33 best of the best—guaranteed to produce plenty of chills during reading with long-lasting after effects. Feel free to browse the impressive list of contributors while I submerge myself in The Horror Library.

Lisa Morton – Foreword
Rick J. Brown – The Puppet Show
Sara Joan Berniker – The Exterminators
Stephen R. George – A Chainsaw Execution
Cameron Pierce – I am Meat, I am in Daycare
Sunil Sadanand – Trapped Light Medium
Marc Paoletti – Apple
John Mantooth – Next Stop, Babylon
Ron McGillvray – The Garbage Collectors
Alan Smale – Bound
Daniel L. Naden – Drawn
Bentley Little – The Station
Kealan Patrick Burke – After
Michael Louis Calvillo – Consumed
Michael A. Arnzen – Guarded
Kurt Kirchmeier – Obsidian Sea
C. Michael Cook – The Living World
Charles Colyott – The Steel Church
Jeff Strand – The Apocalypse Ain’t So Bad
Kurt Dinan – Into The After
Lorne Dixon – Ash Wednesday
Tracie McBride – Ghosts Under Glass
Greggard Penance – Sporting the Waters of the Bermuda Triangle
Kim Despins – Skin
Jeff Cercone – Santa Maria
Geoffrey L. Mudge – The Healing Hands of Reverend Wainwright
Colleen Anderson – Exegesis of Insecta Apocrypha
Ian Withrow – Jerrod Steihl Goes Home
John F.D. Taff – The Immolation Scene
Shane McKenzie – Open Mind Night at the Ritz
Eric J. Guignard – Footprints Fading in the Desert
Benjamin Kane Ethridge – The Vulture’s Art
Ray Garton – The Happiness Toy
Danny Rhodes – Follower

About Angela Yuriko Smith

Angela Yuriko Smith is an American poet, publisher and author. Her first collection of poetry, In Favor of Pain, was nominated for an 2017 Elgin Award. Her latest novella, Bitter Suites, is a 2018 Bram Stoker Awards® Finalist. Currently, she publishes Space and Time magazine, a 53 year old publication dedicated to fantasy, horror and science fiction. For more information visit SpaceandTimeMagazine.com or AngelaYSmith.com.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *