Elgin Award Winners for 2020

The Elgin Awards, named for Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association founder Suzette Haden Elgin, are presented annually by SFPA for books published in the preceding two years in two categories, Chapbook and Book. Chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry and books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry.

This year’s awards are a personal thrill to me. Space and Time magazine has published a good many of them in our pages at one time or another. Even better, I can boast a personal friend. Congratulations to all of the Elgin winners this year—well deserved recognition!

Bug hugs to Marge Simon (and Bryan Dietrich) for The Demeter Diaries. Next time we get together, drinks are on me so I can toast your success.

Here is the list of this years winners and their works:

For Chapbook

First Place: The Book of Fly, John Philip Johnson

Second Place: The Last Mastodon, Christina Olson

Third Place: Fragments from the Book of the After-Dead, Herb Kauderer

For Full-Length Collection

First Place: Soft Science, Franny Choi

Second Place: Elemental Haiku, Mary Soon Lee

Third Place Tie: The Comfort of Screams, Gary O. Clark, and The Demeter Diaries, Marge Simon and Bryan Dietrich 

Find out more about the SFPA here.


About Angela Yuriko Smith

Angela Yuriko Smith is an American poet, publisher, and author with over 20 years of experience in newspaper journalism. She co-publishes Space and Time magazine with author husband Ryan Aussie Smith. For more information visit SpaceandTime.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *