You need a way to get your name out there, get feedback on your work and show the world how your ink splatters but publishing is a slow business with a lot of slush… unless you are an Iron Writer. Iron Writers is a flash prose competition where readers vote on their favorite stories. Monthly winners compete quarterly. Quarterly winners compete to win the right to wear the title of Iron Writer Champion 2021.

How to submit your flash fiction and win bragging rights

But how can you start competing to win recognition and bragging rights? It’s easy, and here is a step by step tutorial:

1️⃣ Visit and make a free account. This is not a mailing list but simply your log in so you can post your work. You can find that up at the top menu bar when you click SUBMIT HERE!

2️⃣ On the first of each month, visit to find the four prompts and figure out how to work all four elements into your flash fiction prose of 1,000 words or less. You will find the prompts on the home page below the word CHALLENGE. You will have seven days to write the story.

3️⃣ Post the story by the 8th. You can post it under the SUBMIT HERE! tab where you first signed up. Stories can be posted at anytime, but only stories posted by the 8th will be eligible to receive votes.

4️⃣ Share and vote. Readers vote on their favorite stories. To avoid a popularity contest, each reader gets one vote per story, so readers can vote more than once, but only once per story. The more readers that come to vote, the more your work gets read and your name seen.

And that’s it. You have fun competing, polish up your skills, network and get a spotlight… every month.

Congratulations to our Iron Writers so far:

JULY 2021 The Descent by Briant Laslo

JUNE 2021 Fly Me to the Moon by K.R. Segriff

This entry was posted in #IRON WRITER on by .

About Angela Yuriko Smith

Angela Yuriko Smith is a third-generation Shimanchu-American and award-winning poet, author, and publisher with 20+ years of experience as a professional writer in nonfiction. Publisher of Space & Time magazine (est. 1966), a two-time Bram Stoker Awards® Winner, a 2nd place winner of the Elgin and HWA Mentor of the Year for 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *