Congratulations Rhysling Winners!

Congratulations to all of the 2018 Rhysling Award winners! This prestigious award is presented each year by the Science Fiction Poetry Association for the best speculative poetry. You can find the winner biographies and photos here.

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association was founded as the Science Fiction Poetry Association in 1978 to bring together poets and readers interested in speculative poetry. You can find out more about SFPA here.

Short Poem CategoryFirst Place
“Advice to a Six-Year-Old”
Mary Soon Lee • Star*Line 40.2Second Place
“How to Grieve: A Primer for Witches”
Sara Cleto • Mythic Delirium, May

Third Place
F. J. Bergmann • Polu Texni 12/26/17

spacer Long Poem CategoryFirst Place
“The Mushroom Hunters”
Neil Gaiman • Brainpickings 4/26/17Second Place
“For Preserves”
Cassandra Rose Clarke • Star*Line 40.4

Third Place
“Alternate Genders”
Mary Soon Lee • Mithila Review 9

Editor and Rhysling Chair:
Linda D. Addison
Book Design: F.J. Bergmann
Cover ImageDark Mermaid
by Rowena Morrill
Publisher: Science Fiction Poetry Association

$15.95 + $4 U.S. shipping; $11 Canada; $17 international). E-mail the treasurer for postage costs on multiple copies.

Payable by PayPal to or by check or money order, made out to SFPA, mailed to:

SFPA Secretary
PO Box 2074
San Mateo CA 94401

This entry was posted in #AMWRITING, #Poetry on by .

About Angela Yuriko Smith

Angela Yuriko Smith is a third-generation Shimanchu-American and an award-winning poet, author, and publisher with over 20 years of experience in newspaper journalism. Publisher of Space & Time magazine (est. 1966), a two-time Bram Stoker Awards® Winner and HWA Mentor of the Year for 2020, she offers free classes for writers on her website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *